50 State List – Cost Of Concealed Carry Permit By State

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

 

 

Cost of Getting a Concealed Carry Permit by State 2021

 

State

 

Permit Type

 

Initial Handgun Carry Permit Fee

Length Permit is Valid (years)  

Cost to carry for 5 years

 

Alabama

 

Concealed pistol permit

 

$5-$20 per year (Varies by County)

1-5 years (chosen by applicant)  

$25-$100 (Varies by County)

 

 

Alaska†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$88.25

 

 

5

 

 

$88.25

 

 

Arizona

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$60

 

 

5

 

 

$60

 

 

Arkansas†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$91.90; age 65+: $66.15

(Includes on-line application and background check fee.)

 

 

5

 

$91.90; age 65+:

$66.15

California Concealed carry weapons license (May Issue only)  

The fee is determined by the DOJ, and shall be “an amount equal to the reasonable costs for processing the application for a new license, issuing the license, and enforcing the license, including any required notices, excluding fingerprint and training costs.” In addition, if psychological testing on the initial application is required by the licensing authority, “the applicant may be charged for the actual cost of the testing in an amount not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150).” (Varies by Issuing Agency)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DOJ and local fees: Around $250-$350 (Varies by Licensing Authority)

 

 

Colorado

 

Concealed handgun permit

 

$52.5 plus additional fees up to $100 (Varies by County)

 

 

5

$52.5 plus additional fees up to

$100 (Varies by County)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Connecticut

 

 

 

 

 

Permit to carry pistol or revolver permit

Residents: $228.25 = $70 (Temporary Local Permit Cost) + $75 (State Background Check) + $13.25 (Federal Background Check) + $70 (State Permit Cost);

Non-residents with valid permit by recognized jurisdiction: $158.25 = $75 (State Background Check) +

$13.25 (Federal Background Check) + $70 (State Permit Cost)

 

 

 

 

 

 

5

 

 

 

 

 

$228.25 for residents; $158.25 for non-residents

 

 

 

 

Delaware

 

 

 

Concealed deadly weapon permits

 

 

 

$65 for issuing; $65 for renewal

initial application valid for 3 years; renewal every 5 years thereafter  

 

 

 

$91

 

 

District of Columbia

 

 

Concealed carry pistol license

$75 (Application Fee) + $35 (Fingerprint Processing Fee if your fingerprints are not already on file with the Metropolitan Police Department)  

 

 

2

 

 

 

$222.5

 

 

Florida

 

Concealed weapon or firearms license

$97 = $55 (Initial License Fee)

+ $42 (Fingerprint Fee); Tax collector offices may charge an additional convenience fee of up to $22 for new licenses.

 

 

7

 

 

$69.3

 

Georgia

 

Firearms license

$75 average fee for licensing and fingerprinting (Varies by County)  

5

 

$75 average fee (Varies by County)

 

Hawaii

License to carry handgun  

$10

 

1

 

$10

 

 

Idaho†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$20 plus additional fees for processing fingerprints and materials (Varies by County)

 

 

5

 

$20 plus additional fees (Varies by County)

 

Illinois

Concealed carry handgun license  

$150 for residents; $300 for out-of-state residents

 

5

$150 for residents;

$300 for out-of- state residents

 

 

 

Indiana

 

 

License to carry handgun

There is no fee for a qualified or unlimited license. All NEW license applications incur a

$12.95 fee for IDEMIA Electronic Fingerprinting.

 

 

5 or Lifetime

 

 

 

$12.95

 

 

Iowa†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$50

 

 

5

 

 

$50

 

 

Kansas†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$112 = $79.5 (Office of the Attorney General) + $32.5 (Local Sheriff’s Office); $25 for renewal

 

 

4

 

 

$118.25

 

 

Kentucky†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$60 = $20 (Local Sheriff’s Office) + $40(Kentucky State Treasurer)

 

 

5

 

 

$60

 

 

Louisiana

 

Concealed handgun carry permit

Five Year Permit: $125 (age 21-64) or $62.5 (age 65+);

Lifetime Permit: $500 (age 21-64) or $250 (age 65+)

 

 

5 or Lifetime

 

 

$125; age 65+:

$62.5

 

 

Maine†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states Residents: $35 for an original application and $20 for a renewal; Nonresidents: $60 for an original or renewal application  

 

4

 

$40 for residents;

$75 for non- residents

 

 

 

 

Maryland

 

 

 

Handgun wear and carry permit

 

 

 

$75 plus fingerprint fees for original; $50 for renewal

initial application valid for 2 years; renewal every 3 years thereafter  

 

 

$125 plus fingerprint fees

Massachusetts License to carry $100 6 $83.3
 

Michigan

Concealed pistol license  

$100

 

4-5

 

$100

 

 

Minnesota

 

Permit to carry pistol

not to exceed the actual and reasonable direct cost of processing the application or

$100 (Varies by County)

 

 

5

 

Up to $100 (Varies by County)

 

 

Mississippi†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$112

 

 

5

 

 

$112

 

 

Missouri†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

a nonrefundable fee not to exceed $100 for processing an application (Varies by County)

 

 

5

 

 

Up to $100 (Varies by County)

 

 

Montana†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$55 = $50 (Issuance Fee) + $5 (Fingerprint Processing Fee);

$25 for renewal

 

 

4

 

 

$61.25

 

Nebraska

Permit to carry a concealed handgun  

$100

 

5

 

$100

 

Nevada

Concealed carry handgun permit  

not to exceed $60 (FBI fees will be extra)

 

5

 

Up to $60 (FBI fees will be extra)

 

 

New

Hampshire†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$10 for residents; $100 for non-residents

 

 

5

 

$10 for residents;

$100 for non- residents

 

New Jersey

Concealed carry handgun permit  

$20

 

2

 

$50

 

 

 

 

New Mexico

 

 

 

Concealed handgun carry permit

$100 = $56 (Application Fee paid to NMDPS) + $44 (Background Check paid to Cogent) for application;

$75 = $31 (Application Fee paid to NMDPS) + $44 (Background Check paid to Cogent) for renewal

 

 

 

 

4

 

 

 

 

$118.75

 

New York

Firearms license to carry concealed  

$10-$200 plus fingerprint fees (Varies by County)

 

 

5

$10-$200 plus fingerprint fees (Varies by County)
 

New York City

Concealed carry handgun license  

$340 plus fingerprint fees

 

3

 

$566.67 plus fingerprint fees

 

North Carolina

Concealed handgun permit $80 (Non-refundable Fee) plus fingerprint fees up to

$10

 

5

 

$90

 

 

North Dakota†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$60

 

 

5

 

 

$60

 

 

 

 

Ohio

 

 

 

License to carry a concealed handgun

$67 for applicants with 5+ years residency; $67 plus the actual cost of having a background check performed by FBI (generally $77 in total) for applicants with less than 5 years residency  

 

 

 

5

 

$67 for 5+ years residents;

$77 for less than 5 years residents

 

 

Oklahoma†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$125 = $25 (Local Sheriff’s Office) + $100 for 5-year license

 

 

5 or 10

 

 

$125

 

 

Oregon

 

Concealed handgun license

$65 = $15 (Fingerprint Check Fee paid to State Police) +

$50 (Local Sheriff’s Office) for issuance; $50 for renewal

 

 

4

 

 

$77.5

 

Pennsylvania

License to carry handgun  

$20

 

5

 

$20

 

Rhode Island

License to carry a concealable weapon  

$40

 

4

 

$50

 

South Carolina

Concealed weapon permit  

$50

 

5

 

$50

 

 

South Dakota†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$10

 

 

5

 

 

$10

 

 

Tennessee†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$65

 

 

8

 

 

$40.63

 

 

 

Texas

 

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states

 

 

$40 for an original LTC; $40 for renewal

initial licenses last 4 years; renewal licenses last 5 years  

 

 

$48

 

 

Utah†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$53.25 for residents; $63.25 for non-residents

 

 

5

 

$53.25 for residents; $63.25 for non-residents

 

 

Vermont†

No permits required/does not issue permits  

 

N/A

 

 

N/A

 

 

N/A

 

Virginia

Concealed handgun permit not to exceed $50 for residents; $100 for non- residents  

5

$50 for residents;

$100 for non- residents

 

Washington

Concealed pistol license  

$36 plus fingerprinting fees

 

5

$36 plus fingerprinting fees
 

 

West Virginia†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

 

$50 = $25 (Application Fee) +

$25 (if approved)

 

 

5

 

 

$50

 

Wisconsin

Concealed weapon license $40 = $30 (Application Fee) +

$10 (Background Check Fee)

 

5

 

$40

 

 

Wyoming†

Constitutional carry/permit for reciprocity with other states  

$64 (Attorney General/DCI) plus processing and fingerprinting fee (Local Sheriff’s Office)

 

 

5

 

$64 plus processing and fingerprinting fee

Average cost of permits (Looks at the cost of permits even if it isn’t necessary to have a permit in a Constitutional Carry state.)  

$80.73

Average cost of permits (The fee in pure Constitutional Carry states is zero.)  

$54.48

 

† States where permits not required to carry within the state. Permits only obtained to carry outside of state.

More to explorer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Enter Your Email For A Chance To Win Free Protection For A Year

No Purchase Necessary - No CC Required

2A Shield Self-Defense Concealed Carry

Thank you for subscribing!